Tag Archives: Jim Valvano

Louisville’s Last Number One Seed Was In 1983

louisville-19831The last time Louisville received a number one seed in the NCAA Tournament was 1983.  Mike Schmidt was the National League Home Run King hitting  for 40 home runs.  Don Nelson at the time was Coach of the Milwaukee Bucks was named Coach of the Year.  The NBA MVP was Moses Malone of the Philadelphia 76ers.   The Philadelphia 76ers were NBA Champions.

The top four seeds in the  1983 NCAA Tournament were

Houston #1 seed in the Midwest, Louisville #1 seed in the Mideast,  Virginia #1 seed in the West, and  St. John #1 seed in the East.  1983 was the year when Lorenzo Charles won the tournament with a last second dunk for  Jim Valvano’s wolf Pack.  The Final Four participants were Houston, Louisville,  North Carolina State, and Georgia.  Houston won the championship with  the famed Phi Slama Jamma, Clyde Drexel, Akeen Olajuwon, Larry Micheaux,  Alvin Franklin, and Michael Young.

Louisville was defeated in  final four by Houston 94-81.  The Louisville starting five the McCray Brothers, Scooter McCray, Rodney McCray, Charles Jones, Lancaster Gordon and Milt Wagner.  Perhaps the  highlight of the tournament was Jim Valvano, who came into his own after running excitedly around  and up and down the court after Lorenzo Charles put backjam, gave Valvano his first tournament victory.   The all tournament team  had an NC State flavor,  Thurl Bailey, Sidney Lowe, and Derrick Whittenburg, all from N.C. State making the  All Tournament Team.  Louisville’s Milt Wagner and Houston’s Akeem Olajuwon rounded out the five man team.