Signing up For Affordable Care Insurance


Here’s my account of signing up for Affordable Care Act Insurance.   I was laid off from my job on December 12. The company that I worked for  has a policy of terminating Health Care Coverage the day after you no longer work for them.  Of course this is legal, they have lawyers and they  did  their  homework.  But this is an entirelydifferent story of which I am not compelled to elaborate.  So on December 13,  my wife and I had no insurance coverage. Trust me we both need health insurance, no doubt, no lie. So  I began my quest to secure health insurance.

My next step was to try to sign up for  the  Affordable Care Act Insurance.  What a nightmare.  I went to the site three times that night and each time I went to the site encountered a large notice which said “The Site Is Down For Maintenance.”

I  just can’t take no for an answer so I decided to  call the people at Affordable Care.  After a long wait which included me watching two movies  all the  while having my phone of speaker, of course with the volume turned down, I finally got a live person. This person promptly told  me that  they could began the application process, however I could not actually sign up for the program today. He also said they would notify me via email to let me know when it would be good time to finish up my application. Never recieved the email!

I finally called a few days later and got a live person and was able to actually sign up for Insurance, but to my dismay at an incredibly  high rate.  I complained. They told me to call back after my carrier notified me.

The carrier, never notifies me, so I called them  and now I have to wait for  the invoice and pay the premium.   A lot to go throught but my wife and I need Affordable Care.

Leave a Reply

